Dec 15, 2022

Historic New Danish Government Formed

On December 14, the SVM government became a reality when the Social Democrats (S), Liberals (V), and Moderates (M) agreed to form a government called “Responsibility for Denmark“.

The three-party leads – Mette Frederiksen (S), Jakob Ellemann-Jensen (V) and Lars Løkke Rasmussen (M) announced their plans Wednesday afternoon. This is the first time in more than 40 years that Denmark has seen a government formed between parties from both the left and right wings.

In presenting the new government, Prime Minister, Mette Frederiksen said, “We are three very different parties that have now joined together in a working community with the clear goal of future-proofing Denmark“.

New Ministers Announced
On Thursday, Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen presented her new government to Queen Margrethe, with Jakob Ellemann-Jensen as Minister of Defense & Deputy PM and Lars Løkke Rasmussen as Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Other key ministerial appointments include:
Nicolai Wammen (S) as Finance Minister
Troels Lund Poulsen (V) as Economy Minister
Sophie Løhde (V) as internal Affairs and Health Minister
Peter Hummelgaard (S) as Justice Minister
Morten Bødskov (S) as Business Minister.
Jeppe Bruus (S) as Tax Minister

See the full list of Ministers (in Danish) here.

AmCham Denmark congratulates the new government and applauds this historical cooperation across the aisle, which will most certainly help Denmark make the bold reforms needed to keep the Danish economy strong.